WSOP Winners Since 1970

Of all the poker tournaments throughout the world, the one that every poker player dreams of winning is the WSOP. Every year poker players from around the world have gathered in Las Vegas to compete for the chance to be named the World Champion of Poker. Several events are held during the series, and a bracelet is awarded to the winner of each event, but the most watched, well known, and coveted prize of all events is the main event of no limit Texas Hold-em.

Since 1976 the WSOP bracelet has been the most coveted prize in the world of poker, and in the last two decades, thousands of players have signed up with the dream of going home wearing this prestigious prize. Those who have won the bracelet have had their names go down in poker history. For those who are interested in the history of the World Series of Poker, we’ve compiled a list of the winners of the main event every year since the WSOP was first played in 1970 as well as the grand prize amount.

Year Player Winnings Year Player Winnings
1970 Johnny Moss Awarded by player vote 1971 Johnny Moss $30,000
1972 Amarillo Slim Preston $80,000 1973 Puggy Pearson $130,000
1974 Johnny Moss $160,000 1975 Sailor Roberts $210,000
1976 Doyle Brunson $220,000 1977 Doyle Brunson $340,000
1978 Bobby Baldwin $210,000 1979 Hal Fowler $270,000
1980 Stu Ungar $385,000 1981 Stu Ungar $375,000
1982 Jack Strauss $520,000 1983 Tom McEvoy $580,000
1984 Jack Keller $660,000 1985 Bill Smith $700,000
1986 Berry Johnston $570,000 1987 Johnny Chan $625,000
1988 Johnny Chan $700,000 1989 Phil Hellmuth Jr. $755,000
1990 Mansour Matloubi $895,000 1991 Brad Daugherty $1,000,000
1992 Hamid Dastmalchi $1,000,000 1993 Jim Bechtel $1,000,000
1994 Russ Hamilton $1,000,000 1995 Dan Harrington $1,000,000
1996 Huck Seed $1,000,000 1997 Stu Ungar $1,000,000
1998 Scotty Nguyen $1,000,000 1999 J. J. “Noel” Furlong $1,000,000
2001 Carlos Mortensen $1,500,000 2002 Robert Varkonyi $2,000,000
2003 Chris Moneymaker $2,500,000 2004 Greg Raymer $5,000,000
2005 Joe Hachem $7,500,000 2006 Jamie Gold $12,000,000
2007 Jerry Yang $8,250,000 2008 Peter Eastgate $9,119,517
2009 Joe Cada $8,546,435 2010 Jonathan Duhamel $8,944,138

The prize for each event is determined by the number of participants and is split up among the top players, the grand prize of course, going to the winner and World Champion of poker every year.

If you like to stay up-to-date during this years WSOP, I suggest you visit and sign-up for their RSS feed. Their blog is regularly updated with news and promotions, including items about the World Series of Poker.